The Bug! First steps creating a video of a PC Game

Hello Avatarians.

I thought i share my first steps of making a not serious to be taken first youtube video on my own.

I called it “The Bug!”

Shroud of the Avatar is still a game under development and you get the chance to log in every once in a while to test the progress they are making.
normally you report a bug you find to the developers if you are a nice person.

Well i had this time a different motivation in regards to bugs and this is what it turned out to be.

My own first Video of a Game!

Nothing special i agree. Just a short video. But it served the purpose for me to learn a little about making a in-game video.

I must admit i was surprised how much i had to think of creating it.
And i like to share the process.

1. Legal Questions i had to ask myself – Is the company Portalarium ok if i post a Video of in-game content.

I did check YouTube and found many who already did a video about the game.
But still this did not deliver me the answer i was looking for. Just because others do it, does not mean that it is permitted.

I found the answer in the Portalarium Commercial Terms :

Using the guidelines below, Portalarium grants permission for users to make videos (walk-through, Let’s Play, reviews, etc.) with Portalarium’s game content, images, audio, and/or cut scenes and publish to YouTube, twitch.TV, or similar digital services.

Specifically:

* Do not take assets from our games (e.g. voice, music, items) and distribute them separately

* Do not charge or restrict users from access to your videos

* Do not sell or license your videos to others for payment of any kind

* Absolutely no racist, sexist, homophobic, poor taste, or offensive content

* Keep videos focused on gaming and away from overtly controversial topics

* Do not include cheats, hacks, or similar violations of the EULA in posted videos.

Failure to abide by these content guidelines may result in Portalarium having the video removed. Portalarium will, at its sole discretion, determine if a video does not comply with these content guidelines.

You are free to monetize videos via the partner programs with YouTube, Twitch.tv, Justin.tv, Blip.tv, Ustream.tv, or similar services whereby a website may pay you for views of a video if you are accepted into their partner program.

Portalarium retains all ownership and rights of its produced content, and may terminate or change the terms of this agreement at its sole discretion.

2. Music – I wanted to use music, but i asked myself what music can i use without getting into trouble in regards to the owner of it. Again the Law was in my way.

I approached the problem the wrong way. I wanted to understand the legal laws behind it.

Oh my god!. Welcome to a confusing world.

I was in a world of many “IF´s” i had to understand. Just some examples:

“If the song is over 100 years old”
“If the person is dead”
“If he did not transfer the rights of his song to this and that”
“If you play the song in Germany it may be ok, but maybe an other country will sue you using the song”
“If it is the same song, but with amendments to it”
“If it is only a part of the song and not fully used”

There was so many more “IF´s” in the way i got scared to use any music at all for my first video.

I told myself. This is the wrong way i am approaching it. Everyone would get scared the hell to use music for YouTube reading all this. So how come so many are using music.
Do they really do not care?

So i did a different strategy. I asked myself, where are the ones who say :

You can use my music for YouTube for all and everything.

And now it all became very simple.

YouTube itself s provides an own site with music you can use 100% for free without getting into any legal trouble!
Hurray!

Always good if someone else takes care of the trouble. 🙂

The YouTube Audio Library

I found out even more sites that over free license music. But i leave it to everyone himself to decide if that is 100% secure.

As i was using Live Microsoft Video Maker i then found out that they also provide a direct link to royalty licence free music.
I did end up using a song from there as it was so easy to download them directly into the Video Maker.

So the magic word seems to be royalty free music.

Now i had the Music , i had the game i could record my bug with, and i had a tool from my NVideo Graphic Card providing me the possibility to record all.

3. Cutting

It is pretty simple as the Live Video Movie Maker provides easy, very easy ways of cutting, adding and ending a video.

I did basically cut out as much as possible to adjust it to the music ending.
Also you can add music fade away at the ending of the video.
The in between scene transitions are also very simple.

4. Uploading it to YouTube. Done.

I think the legal stuff is the most important to watch out doing your first steps making a YouTube video. 🙂

Of course many professionals will laugh reading this.
But it was supposed to show haw a noob does his first steps.

Next mission for me will be trying to make a “Trailer”.
This will be much more challenging i bet.

So i looked up what is to watch out for.
At the moment i liked this YouTube video the most for providing important steps:

Thats it.

Take care all.

Leave a comment